May 26, 2010

2010 John Groesch tournament and elections

The 2010 John Groesch Memorial was held on Saturday, Feb. 20.
12 players participated in the four-round tournament. Joe Shin was
the undefeated winner (4-0). Remarkably, this was his first
tournament! Zarathustra Goertzel also finished 4-0 and won the kyu

In this tournament, the real prize is the John Groesch Memorial prize
for the best performance by a player under the age of 20 who is new to
tournament go (defined by less than two years of tournament play),
which was won this year by Alexei Avakov (3 points).

Elections were held April 7, and the following officers were elected for the 2010-2011 academic year:

President: Andrew Thacker
Vice President: Kevin Chuang
Secretary: Jamie Salts
Treasurer: Andrew Chang